Jacksonring 26 | D-48429 Rheine

info@ledcon.de

+49 (0)5971 800 520

Europe's largest

Veltins Arena Gelsenkirchen

Total area of made of LEDCON UPix modules

Twice as big, the largest of its kind in Europe and equipped with state-of-the-art LED display technology from LEDCON Systems - Schalke 04 celebrated the new "centre" of the Veltins-Arena in Gelsenkirchen at the opening of the 2016 season at the game against Athletic Bilbao. 10.6 x 7.2 m per side, 30 tons weight and equipped with LEDCON UPix modules - this is the new video cube, which is officially in operation in the Veltins Arena since 2016. On behalf of the company Hisense, one of the main sponsors of the 1st league team FC Schalke 04, LEDCON Systems started planning about one and a half years before the start of construction and called in local partners for the realisation.

The total area of 305.28 m² per side 76.32 m² consists of LEDCON UPix modules with a pixel pitch of 10 mm and a resolution of 1060 x 720 pixels. A more significant improvement, not only in terms of resolution. The LEDCON UPix modules are much easier to maintain due to rear service flaps. The thin and very light UPix module promises reliability in the harshest operating conditions, an excellent circuit design, and low power consumption. The substructure of the cubes was made of aluminium. Thus the total weight is the same as the old model, with the difference that the double LED surface was designed.

The actual construction time in the arena was about three weeks. It took one week to disassemble the old cube. In addition, the project had to be interrupted for a whole week due to an event in the Veltins-Arena. The production of the LEDCON UPix modules was already completed at the beginning of the work, so that whole 216 modules could be delivered and installed exactly on schedule.

LEDCON was very satisfied after the completion of the four-week construction phase: "The project had an incredibly long lead time in which many details had to be coordinated. Now the cube hangs at a height of 23 meters and promises the spectators and fans an even better view. Our customer Hisense and also FC Schalke 04 are more than satisfied with our work".

Impressions of the installation phase

LEDCON Project Manager
Nils Barthel

Europas größter

Veltins Arena Gelsenkirchen

Gesamtfläche von aus LEDCON UPix Modulen

Doppelt so groß, der größte seiner Art in Europa und mit hochmoderner LED-Display-Technik von LEDCON Systems erbaut – Schalke 04 feierte bei der Saisoneröffnung 2016 beim Spiel gegen Athletic Bilbao den neuen „Mittelpunkt“ der Veltins Arena in Gelsenkirchen. 10.6 x 7.2 m groß pro Seite, 30 Tonnen schwer und mit LEDCON UPix Modulen erbaut – das ist der neue Video-Würfel, welcher seit 2016 in der Veltins Arena offiziell in Betrieb genommen wurde. Im Auftrag des Firma Hisense, einer der Hauptsponsoren des 1.Ligisten Schalke 04, begann LEDCON Systems vor rund anderthalb Jahren die Planung und zog hiesige Partner zur Realisation hinzu.

Die Gesamtfläche von 305,28 m²/pro Seite 76,32 m² besteht aus LEDCON UPix Modulen mit einem Pixelpitch von 10 mm und einer Auflösung von 1060 x 720 Pixeln. Eine deutlichere Verbesserung, nicht nur in Sachen Auflösung. Die LEDCON UPix Module sind durch rückwärtige Serviceklappen deutlich wartungsfreundlicher. Das dünne und sehr leichte UPix-Modul verspricht Zuverlässigkeit unter härtesten Einsatzbedingungen, ein exzellentes Schaltungs-Design, und einen geringen Stromverbrauch. Der Aufbau der Würfels wurde aus Aluminium gefertigt. Somit beträgt das Gesamtgewicht genauso viel wie das alte Modell mit dem Unterschied, dass die dopppelte Fläche erbaut wurde.

Die tatsächliche Bauzeit in der Arena betrug rund drei Wochen. Dabei wurde eine Woche für den Rückbau des Alten Würfels benötigt. Zudem musste das Projekt aufgrund einer Veranstaltung in der Veltins Arena für eine ganze Woche unterbrochen werden. Die Produktion der LEDCON UPix Module war zum Beginn der Arbeiten bereits lange abgeschlossen, so dass ganze 216 Module plangenau geliefert und installiert werden konnten.

LEDCON zeigte sich nach Abschluss der vier wöchigen Bauphase sehr zufrieden: „Das Projekt hatte eine wahnsinnig lange Vorlaufzeit, in der jede Menge zu koordinieren war. Nun hängt der Würfel in 23 Meter Höhe und verspricht den Zuschauern und Fans eine noch bessere Sicht. Unser Kunde Hisense und auch Schalke 04 sind mehr als zufrieden mit unserer Arbeit.“

Impressionen der Installationsphase

LEDCON Projektleiter
Nils Barthel
305 m²
10 mm LEDCON UPix
Previous
Next